My Superhero…


One of the things we are working with Dom on this year is more age and peer appropriate play and interaction. He loves his superheros. He also loves to role play and sport his cape. Generally, we would not let him out of the house with the cape – we are again trying to encourage more appropriate play for a 4th grader.

Yesterday, he was wearing his Green Lantern tshirt and put on his cape. It struck me to actually embrace his quirkiness this time and do a mini shoot with him while Michela was at dance. I wanted to shoot him against a red barn to make the colors pop but had to settle for the school which was nice anyway. It really helped keep the childlike feel to it.

I told him the other day that he was my hero and he just paused and looked at me in a very confused manner. He is my hero in so many ways for so many reasons. I owe a lot of who I am to him. He has helped make me the man I am today.

He very much enjoyed playing out his fantasy and having me document it. This was definitely a moment for me to cherish and not “fix!”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Portraits of a Disorder, SPD, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Superhero…

  1. Hello little man. You make a SUPER cute hero! 🙂

Leave a Reply

