Fathers Advocating


Malachi 4:6
“6 And he will turn the hearts of the fathers to the children, And the hearts of the children to their fathers, Lest I come and strike the earth with a curse.”

Most times, when you think of advocates in the home, you think of mom. This is no slight to dad. Often times it is mom who is the chief care giver and subsequently is at the forefront of the campaigns. This is NOT to say that dad is not supportive. Obviously they are very supportive but typically dad has a full time job.

Special is he, though, who regardless of his occupation, is right there at the forefront advocating and fighting for his child and those like him. Since my son’s diagnosis I’ve made sure to be extremely hands on and at the forefront of his journey. Now, with being self employed, I have even greater flexibility to not only advocate and champion for him but for others as well. I’m also fortunate that through my career and the advocacy work I’ve done, I’ve raised my public profile and therefore able to accomplish more for the greater good. I’ve always felt that if you have a voice or a gift, you have a responsibility to use it to help others.


As fathers, we have a special role in the lives of our children. It is paramount that as men, we step up and take on that role. We must embrace it! If your child may be going through something whether they are special needs, ill or maybe being bullied due to ignorance or intolerance,your role and moreso your presence is more important than ever!

As fathers, we need to not only foster a loving supportive and nurturing environment for our children but they need to know, they need to SEE, that we are right there fighting with and for them every step of the way. They need to experience and know a father’s love and support.

Now, having said all that, I know there are tons of men out there advocating for their children, grandchildren, nieces and nephews, etc. I am friends with a bunch of men who are at the forefront of their kids progress! However, I don’t think enough of it is visible. I feel more people need to know just how many dads are proactive and involved. You don’t need to have started a foundation or organization to be an advocate. You just need to be actively involved in your child’s cause as it were.

I am going to be working on a project to help shed light on those who are fighting the good fight and perhaps a “call to arms” for others! So, let me hear about that advocating dad in your life! Please note, this is NOT a competition to see who can do the most good. Nor is it intended to make any fathers feel less then adequate. You don’t have to have created a pill to “cure” Autism, you can simply be the one who takes your child to therapy and appointments. You just have to be involved. Share your stories please. I will do nothing with the info but read it. Also, let me know where you are from! Lastly, please share!!! Do not keep this to yourself. Pass this along.

This entry was posted in Advocacy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

