Advocating Fathers Casting Call


Ok gang… As those of you who know me and/or follow my work, you know how important my role as a father is to me. It is one I cherish and embrace fully. I feel so lucky to have the family I do and do my best to make sure I do not take them for granted.

Some of you may or may not know that I am the primary caretaker of my two children. My wife works full time so I can have the career I do. So, I must juggle my duties as father and photographer. I will not sit here and lie to you. It can be frustrating managing my career and kids, especially with all of the meetings, appointments and schedules for my son and his needs. Quite often, I feel like a failure in regards to the juggling act, but I do my best and hope my kids don’t hate me when they grow up.

Anyway, getting back on track here… I am working on a virtual series paying homage to those fathers who are involved in their special needs child’s life. It takes a strong man, a real man, to accept his child has special needs. It is not always easy to embrace. As a male, it is not always easy to let go of our ideals of what kind of relationship we want to have with our sons or the dreams we have for them and our relationship with them. It is not always easy to accept that we may have to change our dreams; that we may have to create new ones that may not be on the level that we had hoped. The inevitable is that we must. We must be flexible so as to be an active participant in our children’s lives. THIS is what separates the real men from the pack.

I want to create a virtual homage to those REAL men who accept their special needs child’s reality and embrace it; who do all they can to help their child live the fullest life possible and know love. So, I am asking all of you out there to share this with those who you think would be interested and “fit the bill.”

To be considered, you must:

1. be active in your special needs child’s life – really champion them and their progress.
2. be available to come to my studio in Phoenixville for a professional portrait session with your special need child
3. be willing to have your images posted online and take a little bit of credit for what you do. I know this is also not easy for a lot guys. We dont want credit for doing just what we are supposed to be doing. But hopefully this will inspire more to do it!
4. submit a photo of the dad and his special kiddo and a story about how dad is the kiddo’s biggest fan! You will NOT be judged on grammar or photo skills, nor does dad have to had saved the world single handedly.

** photos and stories should be submitted to brian@bmengini.com – Please put advocating father in the subject!

** submissions must be received by February 6th.

** sessions will be scheduled throughout February-April.

Again, the intent of this series is to celebrate those fathers who champion their children. Those who do, need to get more “press.” They need to get more visible recognition!

This entry was posted in Advocacy, casting call, Fathers Advocacy Network, Special Needs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

