Send the Elevator Back Down…


During a speech at Arts Advocacy Day last year, actor Kevin Spacey quoted his mentor, actor Jack Lemmon by saying, “If you’re lucky enough to have done well, then it’s your responsibility to send the elevator back down.”

This is a mindset that I maintain in all facets of my life. I am truly blessed and fortunate to have the rewarding and bustling career that I do, especially in such a short period of time. I know that I alone did not accomplish this. There are MANY people who have come in to my life that have helped push me and my art, my work, who have helped me create bridges, connect the dots and make MANY inroads to get to where I am today.

I am not even five years into my career and I have already traveled internationally, been published in 4 different countries (just in the last year), and worked with dancers from some of the largest most reputable, storied ballet companies in the world. Just this August I had the opportunity to photograph Mariinsky Ballet in the Royal Opera House in London. This, in just under 5 years. To say my career is charmed in an understatement. But, I know I had help and I can likely tell you every person who has come into my life and what their experience did for my career. It is because of this charm; this goodwill that was bestowed upon me, that makes me want to give back, pay it forward, to send the elevator back down.

Spacey goes on to say, “Countries may go to war, but its the arts that unite us. It educates us, it teaches us to be better.”

During the Second World War, Winston Churchill’s finance minister said Britain should cut arts funding to support the war effort. Churchill’s response: “Then what are we fighting for?”

The arts are so vital to our community, to our culture. The arts help build character, they help build, promote and foster confidence and self esteem. They allow for self expression. They unite people. They transcend race and religion. It is PARAMOUNT that all peoples, regardless of abilities, have access to the arts. This is why I create the programs I do.

Folks, we need your help if you can offer it. we are looking for 10 used digital cameras. They can be point and shoot, they can be ay brand. I am working on a program, the details of which will be revealed later. If you have one that you can let go of, please do let us know!

I do realize this is a lofty request and I ask it in the most humblest manner. Your consideration is immensely appreciated!

This entry was posted in Special Needs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

